Workshop participants sharing their thoughts.

Ocean Data Labs Webinars

Introducing OOI Data Labs Plus: A webinar series for Community College and University Professors Teaching Oceanography or Geoscience Courses

We are pleased to offer this webinar series to further support faculty teaching oceanography and geoscience courses. The series features three tracks:

  1. Introductions to new OOI Data Labs created by your peers;
  2. Additional pedagogical support to help you integrate new ideas for teaching with data, and
  3. Sessions to expand your skill in using Python in your courses.

Each webinar will last between 60-90 minutes and will be recorded; check this page a few days after each session for a link to the recording.

Browse our Fall 2019 offerings below. Additional webinars will be announced for Spring 2020 soon.

Fall 2019 Schedule

October 30, 2019

Designing Effective Learning Experiences Based on How People Learn

Dr. Catherine Halversen, Lawrence Hall of Science, University of California  – Berkeley

In this interactive session, we will engage in discussions and activities focused on how to design effective learning experiences based on how people learn. We will explain how the Learning Cycle instructional model was used to frame our OOI Data Labs and how you can use it to improve your teaching practice.

3 pm EDT/1 pm PDT/11am AKDT/9am HST (90 minutes)

November 6, 2019

OOI Data Lab Introduction – “Changes in Salinity”

Dr. Matt Semcheski, Florida Keys Community College; Karen Helgers, Ulster Community College – SUNY; Mike Phillips, Illinois Valley Community College

This new OOI Data Lab consists of three sets of activities developed to support students’ understanding of sea surface salinity and variables that affect salinity. Students are introduced to time-series data and are asked to interpret data trends, focusing on sea surface salinity at a single station in the North Pacific Ocean. Other activities examine changes in sea surface salinity and oceanic/atmospheric parameters over time, including data from other OOI arrays. The authors will review the activity and discuss implentation in their courses.

4 pm EST/ 1 pm PST/12pm AKST/ 11 am HST (60 minutes)

November 14, 2019

OOI Data Lab Introduction – “Anoxic Events”

Dr. Kathy Browne, Rider University; Dr. Rebecca Freeman, University of Kentucky; Dr. Lauren Sahl, Maine Maritime Academy; Dr. Gabriela Smalley, Rider University

This new OOI Data Lab was designed to help students apply their knowledge about the relationship between atmospheric processes (wind) and oceanic processes (currents and upwelling) to explore a real scenario where these two systems can affect benthic organisms and marine fisheries. The authors will discuss how they have implemented the Data Lab in three different learning contexts, from a large lecture class to small laboratory exercises.

7 pm EST / 4pm PST/ 3pm AKST/2pm HST (60 minutes)

November 19, 2019

Exploring Data Skills: Designing Experiences to Teach with Data

Kristin Hunter Thomson, Dataspire Education & Evaluation, LLC

In this interactive session, we will explore different strategies for designing learning experiences that help students develop quantitative skills. We will discuss how to utilize different data set models from Kastens & Krumhansl (2017) to more explicitly think about what we want our students to do with data, how we design our learning experiences to support that, and new things we can try.

3 pm EST/ 12 pm PST/11am AKST/ 10 am HST (60 minutes)

December 4, 2019

OOI Data Lab Introduction: “Dynamic Air-Sea Interactions”

Jacqui Degan, Cape Fear Community College; Dr. Melissa Hicks, Onondaga Community College – SUNY; Dr. Paul Webb, Roger Wiliams University

This new OOI Data Lab allows students to explore several types of data (wave properties, barometric pressure, precipitation) associated with a dramatic atmospheric event on the New England continental shelf. Once students come to a conclusion as to the cause of the event, students are invited to reflect on how this oceanic event affects their life. This case requires students to think of the interaction between atmospheric and sea surface conditions, and the impacts to coastal societies.  The authors will review the activity and discuss implementation in their courses.

4 pm EST/ 1 pm PST/12pm AKST/ 11 am HST (60 minutes)

December 16, 2019

Exploring Data Skills: Developing Student Data Skills

Kristin Hunter Thomson, Dataspire Education & Evaluation, LLC

In this session, we will explore how to create an on-ramp for student success with data exploration, as well as how to help students develop quantitative data skills. We will explore a range of data skills that are used when working with data and consider how we prioritize teaching and learning those skills. We will also review the pedagogical content knowledge that is at play when teaching with data, and some strategies to use when asking students to work with data.

3 pm EST/ 12 pm PST/11am AKST/ 10 am HST (60 minutes)